Home

Elle Vosburg

Staff Writer

Everybody always asks me about my school experience. But in reality, what do they really mean? Are they referring to how I’m doing in my classes? Are they wondering about my relationships with other classmates? I don’t know.

I think a “high school experience” is what you see when you look back and dig up memories from your time here or elsewhere. Your own memories can be completely different from the person’s next to you, and that’s why I don’t think there’s such thing as a typical high school experience. As my sophomore year is drawing to a close, I do not have the sufficient amount of scenarios and advice about my time here to be of any use to you. But for the sake of writing, here it is.

I am an average student. I get A’s and B’s and the occasional C. I’m in honors classes, and I do not play a sport. I’ve had fantastic teachers, and a couple that I wish to never encounter again. I come here 5 days a week, from 7:30 to 2:03. But that’s all the normal, boring information that I’m sure wasn’t too much fun to read. So, here’s some stuff that maybe you can relate to… or maybe not. We’ll see.

I was very stressed in my freshmen year, and I can’t say it’s gotten any better. If anything, the stress has gotten worse. I HAVE to get good grades. I HAVE to be in the hardest level classes. I HAVE to go to college. Blah blah blah. In my opinion I HAVE to fix this broken record.

The pressures placed on a sixteen year old is too much. The intention is good, the delivery is flawed. It’s understandable that everyone just wants me to succeed and have a happy, healthy life. School is a big priority, and yet the biggest stressor. It’s hard to enjoy my teen years, if I constantly have the word “college” breathing down my neck. And the whole process of getting into a university is even more painful to talk about.

That’s right- SAT’s, ACT’s, subject testing, applications, and finances. It’s just too much. It’s contradictory to ask kids to get all A’s, yet throw them into this pit of pressure at the same time. There are ways to cope, and fix this system though.

Take everything one step at a time. Students should only take hard level classes if they suit their interests and will aid them in potential career opportunities. Don’t take AP History if you want to go to medical school!

Also, it’s ok to talk to someone. It doesn’t matter if it’s a best friend, parent, guardian or whatever. Speaking your mind will help take some of the load off. Bottling up all your stress and emotions will only hinder you.

Get a tutor to help you in classes, and try not to procrastinate too much (I’m VERY guilty of that).

And for staff and adults, it might be best to let kids breathe a bit. Take down a couple of those cheesy college posters and books. Don’t talk about college constantly and do not relate anything to it. Try to live in the moment as best you can. Don’t get me wrong, it’s ok to plan ahead, but take it easy. These kids are trying their hardest.

That was it. I hope you weren’t expecting a joyous, fun-filled summary of my time here so far. My bad. I wrote this because maybe there are a few kids out there who can relate to what I’m saying. Stress is a part of school, but it’s important to know how to effectively deal with it. There are ways both students and adults can help in order to make the “high-school experience” a pleasant one.

Leave a Reply

