Home

By Courtney Brown

Special Correspondent

 

Summer is arriving fast, and it is welcomed by all. But, when looking around it is visible on the faces of just about everyone that students and teachers are starting to fade into a “summer mode,” a risky state to be in when final exams are just around the corner and a curriculum needs to be completed within a limited time.

Although it is very hard to do so, the importance of staying on task as the year drags on is recognized by those who not only attend but also work at Holliston High School.

“It is important to stay on task because there is an expectation that teachers will get through a curriculum by the end of the year,” said English teacher Mrs. Patricia Young. “If the curriculum is not completed by the end of the year, then the students will be deficient in content for the following year; there will be a void in the arsenal of material to deal with.”

Just as teachers have to get through a curriculum within a limited amount of time, students are encouraged to maintain a steady grade average throughout the course of the school year.

While this might seem promising in the long run, day by day it is found that keeping that good grade average is easier said than done, especially when school is ending in just a few short weeks.

“It is so easy to get off task because when it comes to schoolwork, just about everything else becomes a distraction,” said sophomore Vanessa Mejia.

Towards the end of the year, students are inclined to do less work then the previous months spent in school, because as the thought of summer begins to blossom in their minds the thought of completing work to create a higher GPA becomes less appealing.

“As the school year comes closer to an end, I start to slack off because most of the tests have gone by so I feel as if they don’t count as much,” said freshman Paula Reytblat. “Also, I get excited because school is ending, which causes me to not pay attention.”

That fine summer breeze that everybody welcomes is also incredibly toxic in a school environment, because as students and teachers begin to daydream of basking in the warm sun, the more realistic thoughts of schoolwork become thrown to the side.

But, “a lack of performance will affect grades because if you slack off for too long [and] you won’t be able to recover in time by the end of the school year,” said Mejia.

Slacking off won’t just affect your grades for this year. Students would be surprised to know that slacking off will affect their placement for next years’ classes as well. While looking at that idea through a broad angle, one might say that this might be unfair. A freshman at HHS was able to see through that point of view differently.

“By the end of the year, a lack of motivation in my performance [should] definitely affect next year’s classes because since it is my choice to slack off, all of my grades should still count towards a final grade whether I understood the material or not,” said Reytblat.

When losing focus on what’s important at hand can be so easy to do, getting back on task is often times a struggle.

“To keep myself on task, I take my phone and my laptop out of my room, close my door, and don’t leave my room until I’m finished with what I needed to complete,” said Reytblat.

Students need to keep in mind that they might have trouble staying on task, but teachers have it just as bad, if not worse.

“There’s a lot of coffee involved, luden cough drops, and eating things…,” said Mrs. Young when asked what she does to keep herself on task. “I often stay after school, use a small, quiet room, or work efficiently at my house by myself.”

Isolating oneself seems to be what works best for most people. Although this might prove beneficial, it seems that even though students and teachers have two very different jobs to perform in a school system, each work hand in hand in encouraging the other to alter their work performance.

“Teachers affect my work performance because they encourage me to do better, and when I don’t do my homework I feel guilty, so I try to complete more of my work on time,” said Reytblat.

“Working with students inspires me to do more in my teaching because of their enthusiasm, or their lack of it,” said Mrs. Young.

With a summer breeze teasing teenagers and adults minds into thinking summer is closer than it realistically is, encouragement might prove to be the most beneficial thing for keeping the students and teachers on task as each daydreams of being far away from school work, noisy halls, and blaring alarm clocks.

Leave a Reply

