Home

ANDREW DESROCHERS

A Holliston High School alum has produced a video based off of the 2010 Holliston Panther football season as a project for his cinematography studies at Marist College.

Zack Obid of Holliston uploaded ‘The Number 73’ to his YouTube channel, obidoriginals, on April 15, 2012 as a movie trailer assignment.

The trailer won at Marist College’s “Silver Fox Awards in the category of Best Movie Trailer,” said Obid in a Facebook interview.

Within days after its upload, the video spread quickly throughout the town, as it was shared on Facebook and Twitter. The video received over 2,000 views within its first week and currently has just under 4,000 views.

“I have always thought the story of Joey, the football team, and our town was fit for a movie,” said Obid, “so I knew instantly that I was going to create a trailer for a movie covering this story.”

The Holliston Panthers dedicated the 2010 football season to fallen teammate Joey Larracey. Larracey died after collapsing on the field in a pre-season game in 2008. The Panthers played a perfect season in 2010, concluding it with a league super bowl victory at Gillette stadium.

“Based on what my parents and friends in town have told me, for some people, it really put into perspective how truly special it was that our high school community was faced with something no group of young people should ever be faced with and rallied together and handled it in the best way we possibly could have,” said Obid. It’s “just remarkable how it is that, as a town, we were able to accomplish so much in such a hard time.”

Dan Larracey, Joey Larracey’s younger brother reacted to the video by saying that it “meant a lot that someone would do this for us, and it being Obid made it so much better.”

The Larracey family has been close to the Obid family as both Larracey and Obid have grown up together. Larracey said he has known Obid for “about 15 years now.”

Obid stated that this project was an extra credit assignment for a film class and went on to clarify that, “Originally this was just going to be a project for class, but the incredible feedback I have gotten on the video has led me to begin thinking of turning it into a documentary project – sort of a 4 Years Later view on the story.”

“I got the clips from a variety of places.” Obid said, “A few clips were taken from the 2011 Video Year Book library I had from last year, a few taken from various news videos, but the vast majority of the clips came from Max Esposito, a Holliston and Boston University grad, who did a set of videos on the football team last year.”

Obid contacted Esposito who not only sent him footage but also guided him through the creation process. “It was great to have a stand-up guy like Max to talk to throughout the process,” said Obid. “I have remained in contact with him ever since.”

Esposito uploaded a series of videos to his Vimeo site in 2010. The videos not only captured footage of games and the team, but of the entire Holliston community.

On Esposito’s first reaction to Obid’s project, he said in a phone interview that Obid did a “very good job,” and that his work truly inspired him since he “hadn’t thought about the football footage in the while.”

Rumors quickly began to circulate around Holliston that a full feature length film was in progress. “As of now there are talks of doing a documentary, but this is by no means definitely going to happen, things must be ironed out first,” said Obid. “As for the rumor, I was informed that this trailer was being turned into a big-time screenplay movie – that is completely false and I have no idea where that began.”

Esposito said that this trailer “opens the door for a discussion on a documentary.” Although both Obid and Esposito have mentioned the possibility of a full length documentary this summer, Esposito says that there is “no certainty that it will occur.”

“It made me think that it is a story that should be told,” said Esposito concerning the trailer.

Reflecting on the time he spent filming the team, Esposito said he was excited by “being able to capture the emotion of a high school football team and what they had been through.”

“I know when I posted the first video, it spread like wildfire,” said Esposito. “I would hope to see that the trailer brings people together. I hope the story of Joey isn’t forgotten. I didn’t know Joey personally, but when you have a situation like that mediums like film allow the story to be permanent.

“I started working on the project on April 13th and had it finished on April 15th. Although it was not required to be finished this quickly, once I started working on the project I could not stop,” said Obid.

“I stayed in my dorm room that Friday and Saturday night, working from 9pm-2am on Friday and 8pm-10am on Saturday,” said Obid. “Sounds a little ridiculous, but I just fell in love with the project and wanted to get it done as quickly as I could.”

Larracey stated that since he himself is interested in communications, his first reaction was of how well Obid put the piece together.

“At the end of my freshman year, Mr. Hill told me about the communications class and encouraged me to apply for a Junior Teacher’s Assistant position at the end of my sophomore year, which I did, and got accepted into the class normally meant for seniors,” said Obid.

“From the minute I got into the class I knew I would love doing anything in that field which has stuck with me into college,” Obid continued, “I am double majoring in Film and Sports Communications at Marist College.”

Larracey stated that a Teacher’s Assistant position is an honor in the high school communications class. The position gives students extra responsibly and the yearlong task of compiling the end of the year video yearbook.

Esposito currently works for Mullen, an advertising agency in Boston, where he has created documentary-like ads for major companies such as Google and Panera Bread.

Obid said that if he does decide to enter the field of film, “I plan to start my own production company and lean towards sports documentary film, searching for stories across the world to create a series of short documentaries on.”

Leave a Reply

